Best AI Tool Directories (2026): Prices and Rules Checked
The best AI tool directories compared on price, review time and link rules, each read from its own page on 5 November 2026, plus my own click data on AI tags.

TL;DR: I read the submit pages of eight of the best AI tool directories on 5 November 2026. Listing prices run from $15.90 to $437, and review takes from the same day to 4 weeks. Only Toolify, Magicbox and Aixploria state a link type. On my own site, an AI tag alone didn't bring more visitors.
An AI tool directory is a website that lists AI products and lets their makers submit them, for free or for a fee.
Most lists of AI tool directories are long. One page I read lists 180 of them (IdeaProof, updated August 2026), and another site offers a submission service across 450+. Few of them tell you what each directory's own page says you'll pay, how long you'll wait, or what link you get back.
So I read the submit page of each directory myself. This post is what those pages say, with the date next to every claim and "not stated" wherever a page didn't say.
Which are the best AI tool directories to submit to?
Start with the free routes: AI Tools Directory and dang.ai both state one, and Traffiklist is free too. Pay only after a free listing shows you real visitors. The paid listings I read run from $15.90 (Magicbox) to $437 (There's An AI For That), and none of them guarantees customers.
I'd pick two or three and track what each one sends, instead of submitting to a hundred. I laid out how in the directory triage playbook.
What do eight AI tool directories say on their own pages?
Eight directories state their terms on their own pages. Prices run from $15.90 to $437, and review times range from the same day to 4 weeks. Only Toolify, Magicbox and Aixploria state a link type. Wherever a page said nothing, I wrote "not stated" instead of guessing, so you can see exactly what each page leaves out.
Everything below is "according to the directory's own page, read 5 November 2026". I didn't use another site's summary for any rule.
I also left out third-party figures like domain ratings, because those aren't the directory's own statement. Prices change, so check the live page before you pay.
AI Tools Directory
According to its submit page, every tool is manually reviewed and a submission isn't a guarantee of being published.
There's a free form. The paid route is Fast Track, which its pricing page lists at $99 once for a permanent listing in 3 days or less. Featured slots are $299 to $499 for 30 days.
The submit page also sets rules: unique descriptions (copied text goes to the bottom of the list or is discarded), clear pricing with no hidden fees, no crypto products, and only AI-related tools. It says content written with AI tools will be detected and discarded.
Link type: not stated on either page.
dang.ai
According to its submit page, a free listing requires a crawlable backlink to dang.ai, allows one category and takes up to 4 weeks for review, with no Featured badge or ranking boost. Basic is $49 one-time: no backlink required, about a 4-day review, up to two categories and a Featured badge. Pro is $30 setup then $19 a month, with a 2-day review, four categories and a newsletter feature.
Link type of its own link to you: not stated on that page.
Magicbox
According to its pricing page, Basic is a one-time $15.90 (shown with a struck-through $19.90). It says Basic gets "DR72 dofollow backlinks from content page" and a nofollow link from the homepage, reviewed in 7 days, with a full refund if your tool isn't approved.
Featured is $19.90 (struck-through $29.90) one-time, with do-follow links "from all pages" and review in 3 days. Sponsored is $29.90 a month.
The "DR72" is Magicbox's own claim, not something I measured. I couldn't find a free route on the pages I read.
TopAI.tools
According to its submit page, Fast Track is $47 one-time: live within 48 hours with no queue, a permanent listing and free edits. Featured is $229 one-time for 7 days on the homepage. It says submissions are reviewed within 48 hours, with a full refund if not accepted.
Link type: not stated on that page.
Aixploria
According to its submit page, there are no free listings. Fast Listing is $79 one-time with publication within 5 business days.
Verified Listing is $279 one-time with publication within 2 business days, a verified check mark and 60 days on the homepage selection. Featured ads are $399 for 3 days on the featured spots.
It's the only directory I read that says outright, in its FAQ, that all of its outbound links are nofollow. It also says all submissions are manually reviewed and that you get a full refund if your tool isn't accepted.
Toolify
According to its submit page, listing is $99 one-time and the listing never expires. It says it lists you within 48 hours with no queue, and that it reviews every tool manually: if your tool isn't approved, for example because it doesn't use AI, you get a full refund. It also says you get a highlighted border and "no less than 6 quality dofollow links from Toolify", which is its own claim about its own links.
I couldn't see a free route on that page.
There's An AI For That
According to its submit page, submitting a tool is $437. It says it reviews each submission, that processing takes 1 to 2 days, and that it automatically issues a full refund if your tool isn't published. It says listings don't expire.
A Highlight add-on is $99 a month.
The page also shows its own estimates (700 to 10,000+ clicks, 500,000 daily page views). Those are the directory's estimates, not my measurements. Link type: not stated on that page.
FutureTools
According to its submit page, the whole statement is: submit a tool and "Matt will review it". No price, review time or link rule is stated on that page.
Which two directories did I leave out, and why?
Two directories I'd planned to include aren't here.
Futurepedia: I couldn't find a public page for submitting a tool on 5 November 2026. Its site now carries "Futurepedia 2.0" and HubSpot Media branding, and the business page I found is an article about AI at work, not a submission page.
Neil Patel's AI tools directory: aitools.neilpatel.com now lands on Ubersuggest's Apps & Integrations page, and I found no form for submitting an AI tool there. One long list I read still lists it as an AI directory, which is a good reason to read the page yourself before you trust a list.
I also left out done-for-you submission packages. Some of the long lists are published by companies that sell those packages, and a list written by someone selling the submission has a reason to make it longer. For a wider comparison of general launch boards, see the do-follow directory comparison.
Does an AI tag bring more visitors?
On Traffiklist, no. As of 5 November 2026, the median AI-tagged listing had 44 unique visitors against 45 for all other listings. The averages were 53 and 48, so the two groups look alike. It's one site and one audience, so treat it as a counterweight to directory click estimates.
Here's the number I can add that the long lists can't. 50 of the 133 live listings on Traffiklist carry the AI category. I counted validated clicks only, with ad clicks left out, using the public rules on the methodology page. The clicks I could count were recorded between 18 September and 5 November.
- The median AI-tagged listing has received 44 unique visitors. The median for the other 83 listings is 45.
- The best single listing in each group got 133 (AI-tagged) and 107 (the rest).
- Of the validated clicks on AI-tagged listings, 77% came from the homepage board, 17% from listing pages and 6% from the newsletter.
I can't tell you why from this data, and it has limits: listings were launched at different times. Measure your own listings before you trust any directory's estimate, including mine.
Where does Traffiklist fit?
Traffiklist isn't an AI-only directory. It's a free weekly launch board for indie makers, with a permanent product page and click tracking by source. The AI-only directories win on audience, because their visitors arrive looking for AI tools. Traffiklist wins on proof of clicks. Yes, I built Traffiklist, so weigh that accordingly.
Your tool sits in the AI category next to the other AI tools launched that week. A free listing goes live after you upvote 5 other products. It earns a permanent do-follow link once it has 3 upvotes and carries the Traffiklist badge.
Every outbound click is counted first-party, so you see how many people actually clicked. That's the part the directories above don't state.
What can you do in two hours?
Write one description, submit to the free routes, log each listing, and wait two weeks before paying for anything. That order keeps the cost at $0 until a directory proves it sends visitors, and the log tells you which one did. It takes about two hours to set up, then two weeks of watching your own analytics.
- Write one description of your tool in your own words, with your real pricing on it.
- Submit to the free routes first: AI Tools Directory's form, dang.ai's free listing (add its backlink to your site) and Traffiklist.
- Put each listing in a simple log: date, directory, cost, the link you were given.
- After two weeks, check your own analytics for visits from each directory.
- Only then consider one paid listing, starting with the cheapest of those that state what you get.
- Open each live listing and check whether the link is do-follow or nofollow.
Frequently asked questions
Do AI tool directories give do-follow links?
Some say so, one says no, and most don't say. Of the eight I read, Toolify and Magicbox state do-follow links on their own pages, and Aixploria says all its outbound links are nofollow. AI Tools Directory, dang.ai, TopAI.tools, There's An AI For That and FutureTools don't state a link type on the pages I read, so open your live listing and check the link's rel attribute.
Are paid AI directories worth it?
I can't say from the pages. The listings I read run from $15.90 to $437 and none guarantees customers. Any click estimates are the directory's own. Start with a free route, log the visits, and pay only if one directory proves it sends people.
How long does it take to get listed in an AI directory?
It ranges widely on the pages I read: "same day" to up to 4 weeks. AI Tools Directory says it can publish the same day and Fast Track takes 3 days or less. dang.ai's free route takes up to 4 weeks. Magicbox says 7 days on Basic, Aixploria says 5 business days on Fast Listing, and There's An AI For That says 1 to 2 days.
Do directory links help my rankings?
They can help a little, and a directory link is one among many. I wouldn't treat any of these as a ranking strategy. Treat them as permanent listings where people looking for AI tools might find you.
Do I need a different description for each directory?
At least one of them cares. AI Tools Directory says copied descriptions go to the bottom of its list or are discarded, so write each description in your own words.
Why aren't Futurepedia and Neil Patel's directory on the list?
I couldn't find a public page for submitting a tool to either on 5 November 2026, so I didn't want to repeat someone else's summary. If I add them later, I'll read their own pages first.
Key takeaways
- Read each directory's own page before you pay, because listing prices run from $15.90 to $437.
- Start with the free routes: AI Tools Directory, dang.ai and Traffiklist.
- Check the rel attribute on your live listing, since only Toolify, Magicbox and Aixploria state a link type.
- Write a fresh description for every listing, because AI Tools Directory discards copied ones.
- Log every listing and count visits for two weeks before you pay for the next one.
What to do next
Pick the step that matches where you are.
- Read: go back to the two-hour plan and choose your free routes.
- Try: start the log today with the first listing you submit, and count its visits for two weeks.
- Submit: submit your product free on Traffiklist and see exactly how many people clicked.
- Upgrade: if you want a pinned spot instead of a queue, look at the Featured plans.
Stop guessing which listing worked. Log it, count it, and keep the ones that send people.
Hit reply and tell me what you're building. I read every one.
Sharyph
P.S. Updated 5 November 2026. Prices, review times and link rules change, so check the live page first. If this saved you from a 200-directory package, send it to one maker who's about to buy one.
More from the blog
GuidesStartup Directories in 2026: Which Are Worth It? A $0-$150 Triage
Startup directories rarely send traffic. Here's a 90-minute triage: 5 to 15 curated listings, a $0 to $150 budget, and a log that shows what worked.
Oct 20, 2026 · 24 min read
GuidesNo Users After Launch? Find Which of 4 Stages Is Empty
No users after launch? Zero is a missing number, not a verdict. Find which of four stages is empty and fix just that one. A diagnosis for makers.
Oct 18, 2026 · 15 min read
GuidesWhere to Promote a SaaS in 2026: A Prioritized Playbook
Where to promote a SaaS with no audience: free listings first, launches in sequence, Product Hunt last. A ranked order of operations for bootstrapped makers.
Oct 10, 2026 · 19 min read